Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

As we all know the 2013 Toronto ice storm is and was a drastic one. On the 22nd of December 2013 most power went out in homes across Toronto and the GTA. This was also the last weekend before Christmas. So me being a last minute shopper decided to go find gifts for my brother. He likes special collectible coins so I decided to go to a flea market near my house. After barely making there due to lights being out, the whole market was shut down. I then decided to go to the post office in the mall. It too was closed. After running around I decided to go to Tim Horton’s. Luckily this one had power. Once I got into the drive-through there was a huge line-up. I had nothing else to do so I went in the line-up. My point is that imagine how much money was lost during this ice storm. Businesses on the verge of their best sales of the year had to shut down. I believe an estimated 10 billion dollars from the economy was lost on that day in Ontario. The ice storm proved fatal to businesses. My family was lucky though as we do not open our buisness on Sunday and that we had power the whole time. 2013 Christmas is one that all shall remember… ESPECIALLY BUSINESSES.

20131227-135606.jpg

© [Zakyr Rhemtulla] and [Zakopinion], [2013-2014]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Zakyr Rhemtulla] and [Zakopinion] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

