Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I was shocked to hear that Future Shop closed its doors on the weekend. I was a great customer of Future Shop’s and even bought the device I am writing this article on from Future Shop. Some of the stores will be converted into Best Buys. I was curious to see if the location near my home was converting to a Best Buy so I went and checked it out. To my dismay, the location will not be converted into a Best Buy.

I am quite saddened and upset over this announcement. For one, Canadian retail has taken a huge hit. Target shut its doors on Canada, and Future Shop (Best Buy) has done the same. In my town, we had a huge Target and a huge Future Shop. Not only would I go to these stores, I was also impressed by them. Now that these two have left, it bothers me. Canadian retail has taken a big hit.

The predominant reason as to why Future Shop shut down is because of “showrooming” meaning that people would visit the store, get the feel of a device, and then buy it for a cheaper price off a site like Amazon. The act of “showrooming” is stupid in my mind. I was speaking to a cousin of mine earlier today about this. Him and I both agreed that, we would rather spend a little bit more to buy a device from Future Shop, so that we could support the local economy and the people who are working at Future Shop and who are just trying to make a living.

Check out zakopinion’s Facebook Page here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Zakopinion/273580552796063?ref=hl

Check out zakopinion’s YouTube channel here: http://m.youtube.com/channel/UCmgN4lpPA0wORouqMyESeHg

© Zakyr Rhemtulla and zakopinion, 2013-2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Zakyr Rhemtulla and zakopinion with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

